Working as a Library Intern (weeks 4-8)

This entry is the progress from weeks 4-8

view weeks 1-3 here: The First Few Weeks as a Library Intern

Hello everyone! For today’s entry, I’d like to continue to write out my experience working as a library intern.

I did a lot of art for weeks 4 and 5. I never doodle, but I made creatures and colored them rainbow. I think I got my inspiration from a Youtuber named Vexx. I happened to see a video or two of his doodles.

Oogala

I made the creatures into finger puppets (and a bear) and gave them away to the kids who came in that day! Kids really struggle with getting the thread into the needle, and tying a knot. I think learning basic skills of how to sew is important in case there’s a loose button on your shirt or a small rip on your favorite shirt. Hopefully when they come across these situations, they will not be intimidated to take out a needle and some thread!

puppets

For weeks 6 and 7, we spent a LOT of time on making awesome popsicle stick lamps. These were two that were made and took about 30-45 minutes each. Kids really liked making them.

lamps

Finally, on the last day of week 8, we did hoop gliders (not shown) and bubble prints. At first, I tried to set up the activity without the metal trays but the colored water went everywhere. If you want to try this activity with a few kids and want to lessen the worry, get trays and give out rules:

  1.  Don’t drink the water
  2. No bubbles outside of the tray/ floor
  3. Blow with low pressure

They made some amazing pieces that I didn’t get to take yet but I definitely will post them when I get the chance.

prints

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have been connecting well with most of my co-workers. In the beginning when the summer started for the kids, they started to come less and less. There used to be 30+ kids give or take during school but there were days where no one came in but for some reason there’s been about 4-6 kids which it really cool. Switching from no kids to 6 kids mode is a challenge because it could I have to put in 6x the effort and watch everyone.

Leave a Reply

2TallyMark

Home ~ School ~ Work ~ Hobbies

Saturin and Her Moons

Saturin's Blog

Snapshots of Life

"A good snapshot stops a moment from running away." - Eudora Welty

The Cat Chronicles

Welcome to the Feline World of Nera, Tabby and Fluffy

TeenMemoir

through my looking glass

Southern By Design

Flip Flops, Beach Hair & Life Is Good

A Journey Called Life ...

“Never forget that once upon a time, in an unguarded moment, you recognized yourself as a friend.” - E. Gilbert

Into_My_World

....Insanity defines me! I don't do drugs I am drugs. .....neha_imran99/instagram.com

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

A.C. Stark

Holding The Planet to Reason, Not Ransom

atidiermind.wordpress.com/

Creativity as Therapy

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

This Happy Mommy

Healthy Food • Family • Fun

Best Places Of Interest

Travel, food, lifestyle

Street Biter

Sharing Moments, Emotions & Feelings – expressed in Pictures.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

