Together With Her, It’s not Healthy

Daily Prompt- Together

This is going to be the first time I will be talking about one of my best friends I go to college with and his relationship with his girlfriend. I;ve known his girlfriend for about 2.5 years and she’s a nice gal.

He and his girlfriend have been going out for about 3 years.

Slowly yet surely, he’s been opening up to me about the constant verbal abuse from her.

She is overly jealous of everyone he comes into contact with. His co-workers, his mother, and even me, being the “strike 2. One more strike and we’re breaking up.” One night, we had to study for a class but I didn’t know I was taking away her “alone with him time” and I really didn’t mean any harm.

She constantly yells at him for small reasons such as not talking with her late at night or when he tries to talk back to her.

You’re probably thinking “why can’t he just break up with her” or “He’s the guy, why are he letting a girl get to him” and well, I asked him those exact questions.4011651430_17fda158b8_b

His girlfriend had a rough childhood and even now, she still has a problematic family. He said if there was a day they would break up, she had to do it in her own power and not him. And I just thought”you’re such a good human being for giving her so much power in this relationship” because really, he just doesn’t want to hurt her or see the worst if she breaks over it. Because he’s a good, decent guy who is the epitome of a “nice guy” he doesn’t want to see her sad and always accepts her apologies.

But my friend will only be hurt in this unhealthy relationship and it’s slowly breaking his mind.

What do you do when the person you love abuses him/herself and you too?
How do you keep yourself strong in a weak relationship?

Things are not always easy and there is never one side to a story.

2 comments

  1. inbetween · · Reply

    Hey, your friend seems like really great person just thinking he really doesn’t deserve for such a treating That situation seems really tough. I think his girlfriend is just scared to be hurt again but to prevent it she choose wrong way. It’s not really alright for your friend to keep this relationship up if she keeps hurting him and won’t try to trust him. I believe they are both great people but really need deep long talk cause something has to change otherways no one will be happy here. Talking seems like such a little thing but actually we often skip the most important things. Hope everything will be good however cheesy it seems.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for you kind words. But yeah, I already asked him if he had a long talk with her and he said yea. She still wants to be with him I think but I’m not sure how he feels about it :\ I’ve already expressed my worries just like you did but sighhhhhh it’s argumen aftr argument with those two 😦 I hope things will turn out okay too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

TeenMemoir

through my looking glass

Southern By Design

Flip Flops, Beach Hair & Life Is Good

A Journey Called Life ...

“Never forget that once upon a time, in an unguarded moment, you recognized yourself as a friend.” - E. Gilbert

Into_My_World

....Insanity defines me! I don't do drugs I am drugs. .....neha_imran99/instagram.com

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

A.C. Stark

Holding The Planet to Reason, Not Ransom

atidiermind.wordpress.com/

Creativity as Therapy

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

This Happy Mommy

Healthy Food • Family • Fun

Best Places Of Interest

Travel, food, lifestyle

Street Biter

Sharing Moments, Emotions & Feelings – expressed in Pictures.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

along the side of the road

Oh the places you'll go ~ Dr. Seuss

kollatbooks

Writer, Reader, Reviewer

I wrote a book. Now what?

I had no idea what I was doing, or what I am doing. It's a fun and crazy adventure.

