My Freshman Year by Nathan (thoughts)

So for class I had to read the first three chapters and my teacher brought up “consumerism capitalism.”

He mentioned this term because in order to become a college student, you have the freedom of Choice: major, minor, clubs, activities, how to study and so on.
Individualism: how you express yourself is through clothes, style, friends
&
materialistic: Buying everything and anything for your dorm

Capitalism is a term I’ve just begun to learn in the summer but America, without doubt, is a capitalist country. In order to produce, you create cogs needed to produce (us) and that will create an extractive society which will rely on buying more stuff and using cheap resources. Sure, one would say that that’s the way it should be, but there is an alternative which is a self productive society and become a community. Confusing I know.

But what I’m trying to get at is, I don’t think my Professor was correct that because we have a choice, want to express ourselves and want things for our dorm, it really depends on the individual.

I couldn’t relate so this term because well for one I commute so I don’t own a dorm. But living by yourself means you need to buy necessities. What then, is the difference between materialistic and buying needs? Buying clothes does let me express who my am through money but that would be my choice. But buying clothes: need or material? And finally my choices ride on capitalism, according to my professor. Yes, this is probably the one I mostly agree with because we can’t get out of the fact that we need a job to survive this economy. And the reason why it’s more extractive rather than productive is because you’re paying for your education and making college a business.

 

Leave a Reply

2TallyMark

Home ~ School ~ Work ~ Hobbies

Saturin and Her Moons

Saturin's Blog

Snapshots of Life

"A good snapshot stops a moment from running away." - Eudora Welty

The Cat Chronicles

Welcome to the Feline World of Nera, Tabby and Fluffy

TeenMemoir

through my looking glass

Southern By Design

Flip Flops, Beach Hair & Life Is Good

A Journey Called Life ...

“Never forget that once upon a time, in an unguarded moment, you recognized yourself as a friend.” - E. Gilbert

Into_My_World

....Insanity defines me! I don't do drugs I am drugs. .....neha_imran99/instagram.com

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

A.C. Stark

Holding The Planet to Reason, Not Ransom

atidiermind.wordpress.com/

Creativity as Therapy

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

This Happy Mommy

Healthy Food • Family • Fun

Best Places Of Interest

Travel, food, lifestyle

Street Biter

Sharing Moments, Emotions & Feelings – expressed in Pictures.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

