Taste Tuesdays: Century Duck Eggs

FOOD.PNG

EWW WHAT’S THAT!!!!

No need to Panic. I’m no psychic.

Many people give the funny face when they see this black, transparent egg because well, eggs are supposed to be white and yellow.

gudetama(1)

With a brown-black transparent shell and a green custard-like middle, Century duck eggs have been eaten in China for many many years, starting it’s fame when China was trying to figure out how to preserve food.

They are not, however, centuries old, surprise surprise. They are preserved in NAOH and sometimes other stuff for a couple of months. By sometimes I mean it really depends on who makes it. Back in the days, they would cake it in clay and salt followed by burring it to let it preserve.

sadd.PNG

This dish is rather common in China but it is almost never eaten alone. No one in China eats these things like snacks. You might see people eating by itself but with it’s strong taste, it’s not very appetizing.

The real way to eat it is with congee, or known as rice soup. The tasteless porridge knocks out that really strong flavor the egg holds and makes it into a nice side dish. I really enjoy eating it this way and the only way. It’s one of my favorite comfort foods at home and something warm to eat in the winter time. 🙂

Emmy does a great job explain the taste and how to eat it better than me so do check this video out.

 

But some manufacturers use toxic chemicals to speed up the preserving process. Here’s why. It’s important to know that when you buy some in the supermarket, check out the manufacturer first and know the ingredients. It’s always hard to tell the difference because they all look the same.

Buying Tip: Cheaper isn’t better. If you buy a box with the yolk still yellow, you’re not getting the full potential of century duck eggs. Cheaper also means toxic chemicals.

Food all over the world can be strange or exotic to someone. It’s important to understand and learn about other cultures to gain many experiences! Food is just one example 🙂

Let me know what you guys think about this dish and would you ever try it!!

Save
Weekly: Rare
Daily: Learning

3 comments

  1. I’m not sure I would be able to, but I would try if opportunity presented.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I do not like the century egg with the soft yolk. Prefer the one with hard yolk. It goes well with pickled ginger.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] My first blog: Yesterday I Found Out That I Was a “Multipotentialite” One of my Favorite posts:Taste Tuesdays: Century Duck Eggs […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

TeenMemoir

through my looking glass

Southern By Design

Flip Flops, Beach Hair & Life Is Good

A Journey Called Life ...

“Never forget that once upon a time, in an unguarded moment, you recognized yourself as a friend.” - E. Gilbert

Into_My_World

....Insanity defines me! I don't do drugs I am drugs. .....neha_imran99/instagram.com

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

A.C. Stark

Holding The Planet to Reason, Not Ransom

atidiermind.wordpress.com/

Creativity as Therapy

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

This Happy Mommy

Healthy Food • Family • Fun

Best Places Of Interest

Travel, food, lifestyle

Street Biter

Sharing Moments, Emotions & Feelings – expressed in Pictures.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

along the side of the road

Oh the places you'll go ~ Dr. Seuss

kollatbooks

Writer, Reader, Reviewer

I wrote a book. Now what?

I had no idea what I was doing, or what I am doing. It's a fun and crazy adventure.

